The Primary Respiratory Mechanism

The Primary Respiratory Mechanism (PRM) is one of the many involuntary movements in the body. Although it has been familiar to osteopaths for a long time, modern medicine is just now beginning to discover it, via MRI for example. 

 

PRM is characterized by 5 distinct components:

 

- Contraction of nerve tissue (glia cells and neurons)

- CSF (Cerebrospinal fluid) Fluctuation 

- Movement of the meninges (Magpie mother, arachnoid, dura mater)

- Movement of the skull bones

- Movement of the sacrum between the iliacs 

 

To put it simply: 

 

Imagine that your skull is a walnut: the shell represents the bones of the skull, the membrane inside represents the meninges and the nut represents the brain. Finally, imagine water inside; this is the CSF. Now you can easily see how all these tissues are connected to each other and why the movement of one inevitably leads to the movement of the others. 

 

For the osteopath, the PRM is an indication of the patient's general state of health. Indeed, PRM allows the body to maintain homeostasis, a correct balance, and adapt as well as possible to different situations the body is confronted with. Thus it can affect our hormones, our moods, our stress, fatigue, and more. 

 

Now imagine the consequences that can be felt when the PRM is slowed down or stopped. The main causes of this disruption are violent shocks (such as car accidents) that cause a reflex contraction of the meninges in order to protect the brain and spinal cord. However, the causes are not always physical. A severe emotional shock, fatigue, or burn-out can also be the culprit. 

 

For newborns, PRM starts when the head passes through the mother's pelvis. Once again the osteopath has a big role to play after this first trauma of life, regardless of if labor well or not.

afee04ded2_76930_couches-meninges-fr-04.
depositphotos_180504646-stock-photo-phot

Le Mouvement Respiratoire Primaire

Le mouvement respiratoire primaire fait partie des mouvements involontaires du corps. Connu des ostéopathes depuis longtemps, la médecine moderne commence seulement à en avoir la preuve, via IRM par exemple. 

Il se caractérise par 5 étapes distinctes :

- Contraction du tissu nerveux (cellules de la glie et neurones)

- Fluctuation du LCR (Liquide Céphalo Rachidien) 

- Mouvement des méninges (Pie mère, arachnoïde, dure mère)

- Mouvement des os du crâne

- Mouvement du sacrum entre les iliaques 

Petite mise au point : 

Imaginez que votre crâne est une noix : la coque représente les os du crâne, la membrane à l'intérieur représente les méninges et la noix le cerveau. Enfin, imaginez de l'eau à l'intérieur, c'est le LCR. Vous pouvez maintenant facilement vous rendre compte à quel point tous ces tissus sont liés les uns aux autres et pourquoi le mouvement de l'un d'eux entraîne forcément le mouvement des autres. 

Pour l'ostéopathe le MRP sera un bon reflet de l'état de santé général du patient. En effet, le MRP permet au corps de garder une homéostasie, un équilibre correct, et de s'adapter le mieux possible aux différentes situations face auxquelles le corps est confronté. Ainsi il peut agir sur nos hormones, nos humeurs, notre stress, la fatigue... 

Imaginez maintenant les conséquences que cela peut avoir quand le MRP est ralenti ou stoppé. Les principales causes sont les chocs violents tels que les accidents de voiture entraînant une contraction réflexe des méninges pour protéger le cerveau et la moelle épinière, mais pas que... Un état de choc émotionnel important, une grande fatigue ou encore un burn-out peuvent en être aussi la cause. 

Pour ce qui est des nouveaux-nés, le MRP se lance au moment du passage de la tête dans le bassin de la mère. Encore une fois l'ostéopathe a un grand rôle à jouer après ce premier traumatisme de la vie, que celui ci se soit bien passé ou pas.